Literary Lies

3 Jul

I was inspired by this post to list my own literary lies. I’ve lied about enjoying books more than I did and hating books more than they deserved. Sometimes I even lie about reading them altogether.

1. Into Thin Air. I was supposed to have read this for a school essay. I never did. I read the first 5ish chapters, got bored, hated Jon Krakauer with every fiber of my being, wrote a paper, got an A. It’s amazing how much information one can gather from a combination of classroom chatter and Sparknotes.

2. The Importance of Being Earnest. Part of this summer’s reading list. Am currently in the process of not reading it, having already gathered the plot from the movie. Colin Firth is much more entertaining than Oscar Wilde.

3. The Entire Harry Potter Shebang. I used to be slightly obsessed, but honestly, I was never Daniel Radcliffe’s biggest fan and he spoiled it for me. Occasionally I find myself needing to absolutely love the series in order to avoid being the minnow in a group of aggressive HP fansharks, but I tend to be vague about how much exactly I love it. Answer: not much.

4. Twilight. I liked the books, ok? The movies I think we can all agree are terridible, but the books weren’t bad! As long as you don’t imagine Kristen Stewart’s teeth or Rob Pattinson’s chest whilst reading, which is admittedly quite difficult. I’ll get back to you on this after I bleach my eyes.

5. Divergent/Insurgent. Were terrible. Why does anyone like these books? As soon as I found out the guy’s name was Tobias I was out. “Tobias” does not inspire sexiness. Neither do numbers. Numbers=not sexy.

6. And my Numero Uno literary truth: I haven’t actually read a good book in ages. I’ve read some average ones and some interesting ones and some downright weird ones (Slaughterhouse 5, anyone?), but nothing that has fully captured my previously insatiable desire for knowledge and entertainment and thought. And that makes me sad.

What are your literary lies?

7 Responses to “Literary Lies”

  1. Jeyna Grace July 3, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    I’m not a Radcliffe fan either.

    • Olivia July 3, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

      Good to know I’m not the only one:)

  2. placesivegonepeopleivemet July 3, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    I didn’t read any of the books Freshman year.. oops! I agree the Twilight books were great.. Movies were weak. For some reason I really enjoyed The Clique series.. They’re really descriptive and pretty girly but really really good. I have the first book and can lend it to you.. They’re pretty fast reads!

    • Olivia July 3, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      Hmm…girly. Hmm…are those the ones with the people whispering on the cover?

  3. natziwang July 3, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    I knew Twilight would be on the list. XD I used to think Meyer was an okay writer who wrote a really bad story. Then I found http://reasoningwithvampires.tumblr.com/. I accept http://audreyii-fic.livejournal.com/5473.html's writings as canon.

    • Olivia July 3, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

      That’s great 😀

Think inside the box!

