3 Things I Wish I’d Learned When I Was Younger

27 Jun

As I get older (and by that I mean the progression from 15 to 16, it’s a bigger deal than you’d think), I start to realize that there’s a few things in life that I’m not cut out to learn anymore.

1. Another language. I’m in the process of taking Chinese, but I’m not young enough to effortlessly master the language and any more effort than that on my part would be unprecedented.

2. An instrument. Sure, I played clarinet in middle school and piano for half a summer (I can still play Yankee Doodle), but I wish I’d invested more time into developing some sort of musical skill set.

3. How things work. I’ve started to realize that, despite having a wealth of useless knowledge and unimportant facts bouncing around inside my cranium, the area I’m lacking in is street smarts. I can’t fix things. I have no idea how cars work, despite the many hours my father spent schooling me on the Otto cycle. Turn a key, it starts. If it doesn’t, you’re hosed. I really wish I’d bothered to learn the basics of mechanicals and electricals and what have you.

Does anyone else have the same issue? What do you wish you’d learned when you were younger?

6 Responses to “3 Things I Wish I’d Learned When I Was Younger”

  1. Jesswithpoems June 27, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Don’t take out more then 10,000 in student loans when you go to college/grad/law/medical any school, if that means state or community school then so be it. I have two friends in a sea of post grad people that don’t have student loans after college (one-parents paid, other paid his way through from community to state). The financial advantages they have now – 8 years later – is incomparable to anything I could earn to make up for my payments. ~ It’s true what they say, the school you go to doesn’t matter 5 years after. But the payments will.

    • Olivia June 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Thank you for the advice, I’ve been thinking along those lines anyway. If I can find a decent state college I’d rather go there than a really good school that I’d have to pay for completely.

  2. gudbyeboredom June 27, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    I can’t sew properly , does that count? 🙂

    • Olivia June 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Ugh neither can I, it definitely does. Such a useful skill but so boring…:|

Think inside the box!

