Monsters University Review

25 Jun

I went to see this movie with my sister, my ever-present excuse for watching kids’ movies unabashed. I was a little kid when Monsters, Inc. popped into theaters, so naturally I was a huge fan of the original and was excited for the prequel.

This being a kids’ movie, I didn’t expect much by way of storyline and interesting characters, but this movie blew me away. I was pretty much glued to my seat the entire time, wondering what would happen. There were enough twists and turns to make the story interesting for parents and older siblings as well as the intended audience 🙂

The premise was young Mike Wazowski (the little green guy voiced by Billy Crystal) studying hard to be accepted at Monsters University, the premium educational experience for young monsters looking to become “scarers,” or those who help power the monster world by eliciting screams from children. Once he arrived, he meets James P. Sullivan (Sully), a slacker and natural-born scarer, and their rivalry begins. Mike eventually finds out that he’s not very scary, but he is a natural leader.

It’s a very entertaining movie with little sprinkles of completely clean humor, unlike many children’s movies these days (I’m looking at you, Happy Feet). This coming from a teen who can usually only get her fix on action and adventure, I highly recommend this movie, especially if you’ve seen the original Monsters, Inc. There’ll be a lot of “oooh, that’s where they met him” and “ohhh, that’s why that happens,” which is always fun 😀 Overall, a 4.5/5 for a cute movie with lots of heart, as corny as that sounds.

Have you seen Monsters University yet? What did you think?

5 Responses to “Monsters University Review”

  1. lindseysurratt July 17, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    N

  2. placesivegonepeopleivemet June 25, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    Darn I was literally going to do a review of this movie tomorrow..

    • Olivia June 25, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      Haha go for it! You might have a different opinion:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LOTD: Pop of Green/Blue | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - July 17, 2013

    […] I went to see Monsters University again with a couple of my best friends (my review here). I did Sully-inspired makeup last time so I decided to do something neutral (aka boring) but ended […]

  2. Look of the Day (LOTD) | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - June 27, 2013

    […] makeupless for the past week with the exception of Sully-inspired makeup for Monsters University (review on that here), so I jumped at the chance to slap something on for a family […]

Think inside the box!

