Why I Hate My Favorite Color

23 Jun

I don’t do small talk, so it will come as no surprise that I hate being asked questions like “What grade are you in?”, “Do you have any siblings?”, “What are your plans for the summer?”, and worst of all, “What’s your favorite color?” It’s gotten to the point where I’ve actually made a list of the answers to these pointless questions just so I’ll have an answer prepared.

Favorite movie? Sherlock Holmes

Favorite color? It varies. Right now, metallic gold and turquoise.

Any siblings? Unfortunately, yes. One of them is watching me type this (she made a face).

Favorite food? Sushi.

Grade? 11th.

How’s the weather been? Disgusting.

What are your summer plans? As little as possible.

What are you going to be when you grow up? A serial killer. Har de har. I’m wavering between pathologist, detective, or doing special effects makeup for the movies. Not likely, but interesting, no?

How are you doing in school? Fine, thanks.

Favorite subject? Lunch.

Any pets? Yep. Guinea pig.

Aww, what’s her name? Lily.

Like the flower? You got it, Toyota.

We should catch up! No, we shouldn’t.

I understand that silences can get awkward, but I don’t feel the need to insert small-talky questions into a conversation in order to fill the silence with empty words, and I wish the dentists, teachers, and parents-of-other-children didn’t either.

4 Responses to “Why I Hate My Favorite Color”

  1. placesivegonepeopleivemet June 23, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

    Died laughing at the “we should catch up! No we shouldn’t”

    • Olivia June 23, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

      Haha well people always say that when they have nothing else to say. Clearly, we should not catch up 😐

  2. hookershorde June 23, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Wish you lived in Park City . . you’re a great writer with a quick and clever wit. It would be a pleasure to have you in a class. Your teachers are lucky.

    • Olivia June 23, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

      Thank you so much:) That really means a lot. Do you teach?

Think inside the box!

