Supernatural Season 1 Review

21 Jun

A week ago in a post about my favorite shows I mentioned that I’d just started watching Supernatural and was a bit obsessed with it. I just finished the first season and thought I’d review it for you guys. It’s on instant Netflix so you can watch past seasons commercial-free whenever:) I’ll try to keep this review spoiler-free.

To start off, I’ve always been interested in paranormal legends, so I found the show informative as well as entertaining. The episodes are for the most part stand-alone with a different cast every time apart from the 2 brothers, but I wouldn’t recommend watching them out of order as you might miss a few plot twists and important installments.

The show isn’t scary per se, but if you’re as paranoid as I am I’d recommend not watching it at night. What the monsters and demons lack in special effects magic they make up for in sheer suspense. Popping out of walls and ceilings, creepy music, the whole enchilada. If you like horror, watching this show will be akin to watching a herd of kittens paw at each other playfully, but I don’t, so it was a little unnerving.

As far as cheesiness goes, the rating is high. The brothers are polar opposites: Sam is bookish and quiet while Dean is, well, a bit of an a**hole, but you love him anyway. Their stoic refusal to show emotion is occasionally broken by cliched little emotional outbursts, but you care enough about the characters not to mind the corny scripting. For the most part though, it’s well made and well thought out.

I loved all of the drama and surprises of the first season. This show is definitely going to be a favorite of mine for a long time!

5 Responses to “Supernatural Season 1 Review”

  1. gudbyeboredom June 21, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    Three reasons I like it : Jensen Ackles, the songs and the script. There so many funny scenes along with the horror. Keep watching, you are going to love it. It’s still one of my favorites even though I stopped watching after season 5. The main reason they changed the timing of the show. Might give it a try when they do re-runs.

  2. Jesswithpoems June 21, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    I’m a big fan of the show and only got into it in the last couple years. I highly encourage you to keep watching….season two, the writing starts to get real good and the small pieces that didn’t seem like much in season one start to add up into a larger arc that will run through multiple seasons. Its a really fun show!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Supernatural Season 3 Review | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - July 7, 2013

    […] still love it, so I’m still reviewing. My review of Season 1 and Season 2 here and here. Warning: may contain spoilers from seasons 1 and […]

  2. Supernatural Season 2 Review | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - June 25, 2013

    […] I am a roll with these TV reviews today! Next up, season 2 of the TV show Supernatural (see season 1 review here).  […]

  3. Exciting Things Are Happening | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - June 23, 2013

    […] a replica of Dean Winchester’s amulet from the TV show Supernatural (my review of Season 1 here). I’ve become a tiny bit obsessed with it and decided that I needed this. It has a […]

Think inside the box!

