Life Without a Best Friend

20 Jun

Although I’ve always been a bit (read: quite a bit) introverted, I’ve always managed to make friends in school and sports, usually with people who feel the same way. And with them came the very best of the best of friends, the people I am closer to than my own family.

Recently I began to think about how my life would change if I didn’t have these wonderful people in my life. It seems that everyone has a few friends that I call “surface friends”: those you can talk to about school, work, or car troubles, but you can’t really confide in. If those were the only friends I had, I would be utterly miserable. We as people need the security of one or more really close friends. These kind of friendships can’t be forced. They just happen, and you can only hope that they last.

Think inside the box!

