How I Force Myself to Floss

18 Jun

Apparently it’s medically advised to get your teeth cleaned biannually, because every six months my mother packs up the family and ships us off to the local dentist. I used to like it, but ever since I got “too old” for the little basket of toys they give out to little kids (never too old for those, in my opinion), the dentist has become a regular torture.

I didn’t have the best (read: terrible) dental hygiene when I was little, and I had a lot of cavities and surgeries to remove teeth that didn’t fit my small jaw. Long story short, I put brushing and flossing on the back burner for a long time. Recently though, after 2 and a half years of braces and several more surgeries, I’ve gotten a little more tooth-conscious.

Flossing has always been an issue for me. Every time I visit the dentist, he comments on how much my gums bleed when he flosses them and asks how often I floss at home. I think everyone’s gums bleed because he flosses like a psychotic gum murderer, but I do the pathetic thing and lie about how much I’m actually flossing. Which is never. Then I go home, feeling a bit guilty, floss for about an hour, and call it good for another half a year. So goes the cycle of dental misery.

After my last visit, I decided that I would never again go through that torturous visit to the dentist. Unfortunately for me, I’m a very very lazy person who knows that the internal motivation to keep my teeth clean will last only until the sun sets, so I grabbed a box of minty dental floss and stuck it in a bin next to my computer. Since I spend so much time on the computer, I see it sitting there several times a day and feel guilty about not flossing and therefore gain the motivation to actually floss my teeth. Regularly. I can’t believe I haven’t thought of this before.

And so, my friends, this is the story of how I force myself to floss. It’s torturous, boring, and kind of gross, but apparently it’s good for you. So I’ve heard. I definitely recommend giving this a try:)

Think inside the box!

