Why I Hate Twitter

16 Jun

The fact that I’m a blogger is a clear sign that I don’t shy from social media, but I really dislike Twitter.

I joined Twitter about a year ago to follow my favorite celebrities (ok, one in particular;)) and to get updates on my favorite TV shows, and I started to follow a few of my “friends” (read: acquaintances). I posted a few times, innocuous stuff mostly, and I read my feed fairly regularly. I began to notice a pattern: when something “important” (ex. Amanda Bynes’ recent descent into internet infamy) happened, it was EVERYWHERE. Facebook, 9gag, Tumblr, and especially Twitter. I got kinda sick of reading post after post about some scandal I really didn’t care about in the first place. I guess this condemns the whole internet, but since tweets are so short and quick to send, people think less and less about what the impact of their words will be. I’ll stop before I sound too preachy!

The other thing I really don’t like about Twitter (and all social media, to a point) is the insignificant things that people post. I don’t care about what you had for dinner. I don’t care about how much you miss your ex. Twitter is a culmination of everything I don’t like about Facebook and other social media with none of their perks.

Also, the tweet sound just gets on my nerves.

What do/don’t you like about social media? I’m still trying to decide if it’s worth my time:\

7 Responses to “Why I Hate Twitter”

  1. maybeitsaboutroro July 22, 2013 at 7:09 am #

    I also dislike twitter. Once I haven’t used nor visited my account for a year. Then when I started actively using it again, my account got suspended because of multiple tweets. In fact, I’m actually not tweeting via my account but from my other social media connected to my Twitter. But I still got my account back after few days. But that was mean Twitter! Account suspension right away with no warning at all! Sorry for ranting. LOL. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ kisses from roro

    • O July 22, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      Haha great story, just another reason to dislike it! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

    • O July 22, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      Haha great story, just another reason to dislike it! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

  2. taye2013 June 16, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Funny that you hate the very channel I’m having a love affair with. I think Twitter is what you make it. It sounds like your Twitter followers are the problem.

    I have two twitter accounts. One personal account where I network with Twitter users that either live in my geographic area or tweet about topics that interest me ie: moms, gardening etc. My second Twitter account I use for business, so I follow Twitter accounts in my industry. I enjoy both accounts.

    Having said that, I get why you are frustrated with the channel. Before you pack it in, try changing up your network. Hopefully it will solve your issues and make Twitter more fun.

    Good luck!

    • Olivia June 16, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

      That’s a good point, the problem lies with the people I follow. Unfortunately I’m a teenager and don’t have to privilege of knowing very many mature, interesting people. I might just give up following people and follow topics instead. Thanks for the advice!

      • taye2013 June 16, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

        Unfortunately adults can be immature and boring on Twitter as well.

        Throw some topics in the Twitter Search field to find people that will be more interesting.

        If you just keep unfollowing users that drive you crazy, you may end up with a feed you enjoy.

        I see teenager tweets – they can be mean or just plain pointless. But I actually do have some teens in my network that I quite enjoy.

        As you know, not all teens are random. You’ll find some teens you enjoy – promise.

Think inside the box!

