The Other Side of Father’s Day

16 Jun

In the midst of online congratulations and weepy sentiments to fathers, I am here, on my computer, ignoring the date and its implications.

The Oatmeal, one of my favorite online cartoonists, posted this on facebook a few minutes ago (I don’t own the picture; source is theoatmeal.com). I think it sums up my predicament perfectly. Like it or not, some fathers just don’t live up to the expectations of their children.

I think people like me instinctively tend to look for father figures wherever we go. I know a lot of people with divorced parents; some of them take it well and others can’t get over it. Others had abusive fathers, or ones that have passed away. If you can’t or don’t want to identify your biological father as the father figure in your life, you don’t have to. You will find a caring and worthy stand-in. You may have one or several already.

Just a bit of hope for you out there on Father’s Day.

Think inside the box!

