My Favorite TV Shows

15 Jun

I’m pretty selective when it comes to choosing TV shows. I have difficulty getting into them, but when I do, I will defend my favorites to the death.

Let’s just get this out there: I dislike reality TV. Not even as a guilty pleasure. Not even to make fun of while secretly wishing I was watching it. For the most part, I get addicted to crime dramas and anything suspenseful. I can stomach a bit of comedy, but I always come to back to trusty old crime shows. I’ve been trying to branch out a bit, and here are the fruits of my labors.

Old favorites (in no particular order):

Monk. This show sadly went off the air a few years ago after 8 amazing seasons. I have rewatched every episode at least once on instant Netflix, and I CANNOT recommend it enough. The premise is an OCD ex-detective and his assistant solving unsolvable murders. Mr. Monk’s like Sherlock Holmes, but crazy. It’s amazing.

Lie to Me. Another off-the-air show after only 3 seasons, but really good. You learn a lot about the science of lying and facial expressions (and most of it’s true! Probably) and get to watch wisecracking Tim Roth be amazing. Go watch it. Discover enlightenment.

Bones. I have to say it’s gotten a bit boring since Bones and Booth got together (it’s what we all wanted but the grass is always greener…), but with the reoccurring serial killer there to make things interesting, it remains a favorite.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer. This show (read: young David Boreanaz) broke my 12 year-old heart. I basically stopped watching after Angel left, but it was wonderfully cheesy up until then. I can’t take Alyson Hannigan on How I Met Your Mother seriously after Willow.

Sherlock. I’ve always loved Sherlock Holmes, and this show is perfect, so addiction was inevitable. I wish we didn’t have to wait so long between seasons…hint. Hint.

Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. This is technically a mini-series, but I can’t not include it. This show has one of the most amazing soundtracks of any show/movie in history. Neil Patrick Harris broke my heart and he’s gay, so you know it’s good;) I could watch this 10 times in a day and not get sick of it.

How I Met Your Mother. Not a crime show! Rejoice! It’s funny in a (mostly) clean way, and I could not be sadder that it’s ending.

Grey’s Anatomy. Like Bones, it’s dragged on a bit too long, but I really enjoyed the first few seasons and how every one ends with a bang.

White Collar. Ok yes, Matt Bomer is attractive, but the show is clever and predictably unpredictable and I love it.

Futurama: I’m not a huge fan of shows like Family Guy and South Park because I don’t really get their brand of humor, but Futurama is hilarious and well-made and occasionally tear-inducing and just generally amazing. Apparently it’s ending this season…? 😦

New favorites:

Supernatural. I don’t know which rock I’ve been hiding under to not have heard of/watched this show until now, but I’m only on the second episode and despite the really bad effects, I like it. I’m actually watching it as I type and it’s kinda freaking me out…o.O

Mad Men. Not my usual but nice (you see what I did there?). The best part is it’s on instant Netflix. Summer long marathons ensue:)

Breaking Bad. It’s almost too suspenseful for my taste as I work through a week’s worth of adrenaline just gearing up for an episode, but it’s witty and a little strange and just pretty much bada**.

The Walking Dead. Wow. This show. It satisfies my morbid need for a little (ok, a lot of) guts and gore, I love the characters (even though they kill off my favorites), and the introduction of the Woodbury community just thickened the plot of the third season. I haven’t finished it yet so don’t spoil anything!

I’m sure I’ve forgotten something important, but there’s a very brief synopsis of my favorite shows. I hope you’ll give some of them a chance; I’m glad I did:) What are your favorites?

27 Responses to “My Favorite TV Shows”

  1. Catherine Dream January 2, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    Monk ❤
    I had to stop watching Bones mid-last season as it got booooring. Not even my loyalty kept me glued to the screen. And I used to LOVE that shit.
    Now, I can honestly say, I've seen like 5 episodes of Supernatural and am too much of a chicken to keep watching. Seriously, lame.
    ; )
    And of COURSE Sherlock. I mean. ❤

    • Olivia January 2, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

      Another Monk fan! That’s a first 🙂
      I totally agree with Bones…same thing happened with Grey’s Anatomy. Please, for the sake of your fans, just end the show with dignity. I’d highly recommend you keep watching Supernatural, it gets significantly less cheesy and suspenseful with more focus on the individual characters (and there are some really awesome ones). It’s fast become my Favorite Show Ever…I could talk about it for years. Oh, I kinda just did…oops.

      • Catherine Dream January 2, 2014 at 4:29 pm #

        Oh really ? I thought you could not NOT like Monk!!
        Ooooooh. Is it really? I might need to continue watching then…….. If you’re really recommending.
        Right now I’m binge watching The Mentalist. But I need something post-binge.

        • Olivia January 2, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

          Haha I understand the binge-watching, but I am REALLY RECOMMENDING (it deserved some capital letters) 🙂

          • Catherine Dream January 2, 2014 at 4:52 pm #

            Oh Alright then. : ))))
            Btw. Sherlock has landed. I MISSED it. I forgot it was yesterday. Or was it today? Two years and I missed it. ; )
            I JUST stumbled upon it on a blog!

          • Olivia January 3, 2014 at 6:07 am #

            It was the 1st, but I can’t find a place to stream it online that isn’t super sketchy 😦 It’ll apparently air for the US on the 14th, but I don’t have TV, so back to the sketchy online streaming sites I go…

          • Catherine Dream January 3, 2014 at 8:51 am #

            Ugh. 14th?! Wow. That sucks! I thought BBC America corrected themselves and started being up to date!
            I watched it tonight, cause I was so surprised I missed it : P
            I can’t wait till you see it : )

          • Olivia January 3, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

            Was it good was it good was it good??!!!?

          • Catherine Dream January 3, 2014 at 4:38 pm #

            It.
            Was.
            So.
            GOOD!!!!!!!

          • Olivia January 3, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

            I just found it…it’s amazing! Really funny, too 🙂

          • Catherine Dream January 3, 2014 at 5:05 pm #

            You’ve seen the whole thing?
            I’ve had to stop halfway cause I was so hyped up : D

          • Olivia January 3, 2014 at 5:19 pm #

            I’m about an hour in…it’s quite exciting, right?!

          • Catherine Dream January 3, 2014 at 5:24 pm #

            SO exciting.
            Enjoy the rest of it : D
            I think you’ve inspired me to watch it again!
            I’ll just fetch some food from downstairs and Sherlock here I come : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100 Things That Make Me Happy | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - September 24, 2013

    […] 7. Every other favorite TV show of mine ever. See here! […]

Think inside the box!

