Trying New Foods

10 Jun

My mother’s side of the family is Czech, and my grandparents have made it their mission to expose me to as many traditional Czech meals as possible. I don’t mind.

The problem is, while some of these dishes include pork and sauerkraut and cauliflower with eggs, bacon, and parmesan cheese, others are brain. Pork brain, to be specific.

On my sixteeth birthday I finally obtained a passport, and my family has planned my first out-of-country experience since I was very young. Next stop, Prague. As excited as I am, I’m not sure I’m willing to try “every part of the animal,” as described by my relatives. It’s not that I’m a picky eater; as a teenager, I will usually eat anything that doesn’t try to scurry off my plate. I just have trouble separating the thought of what the soon-to-be-food used to be doing from the piece of meat lying innocently on my plate. Have any of you tried this or something similar? Any reassuring thoughts?

5 Responses to “Trying New Foods”

  1. gudbyeboredom June 10, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    I’ve never been outside the country. Will love to go to Prague one day, its on my ‘Places to see before you’ die list 🙂

    • Olivia June 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      I’ve heard it’s a beautiful place, but my family might be a little biased. I’m very excited for the opportunity!

  2. placesivegonepeopleivemet June 10, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Cool your jets you really do have a lot of feelings this is like your 5th post 🙂

Think inside the box!

