This Doesn’t Change My Life

5 Jun

On the way to school, I had one of those talks with my mother (no, not that kind of talk) that put all of the finals stress into perspective. For the first time in my life, she said it was okay for me to get a B. That it wouldn’t affect my acceptance into a good college, medical school, or the rest of my life. For my mother and I, this was a revelation. We’ve both grown accustomed to my exceptional school performance. When I do hit a brick wall, usually with math, it’s a rare and shocking thing that seems to upset the very balance of the universe. There’s a lot of pressure for me to continue with this track record, but much of it comes from myself. I’m not comfortable with the idea of failure (ie anything other than an A). But I’m trying to improve myself, and this is me trying.
So I’ll walk into math with my head high, and I might not do well. I might fail. And it’ll be a first. And I’ll be ashamed. High-strung as I am, I might even cry. But it won’t change my life.

20130605-143240.jpg

2 Responses to “This Doesn’t Change My Life”

  1. Life of a Honors Student June 5, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    You are extremely smart. Don’ ever forget that. If the Olive wants to conquer the world, she will conquer the world not matter what.

    • Olivia June 5, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

      Thank you, that really cheered me up:)

Think inside the box!

