My Favorite Action Movies

3 Jun

Movies! If you know me at all you’d know that I love movies, particularly the Action & Adventure genre. As long as there’s enough substance to make it a worthwhile rewatch, I love adventurous quests, car chases, and bada** explosions (cool guys walk away from explosions). However, I am the worst person to watch movies with because I constantly jabber on about this and that (OMG DID YOU SEE THAT OMG HE ALMOST DIED OMG) or, if it’s a bad one, I give a sarcastic commentary. I’ve driven several of my closest friends crazy. Buyer beware.

Despite my preference of action, I do like a little comedy (as long as it’s not Adam Sandler) and I can usually stomach chick flicks if the female lead wasn’t chosen chiefly based on her cup size and the plot isn’t completely predictable.
So, with this pertinent information, I give you MY FAVORITE (ACTION) MOVIES OF ALL TIME EVER.

***Note: spoilers ahead.

1. It’s difficult to place a first, but I’d say Sherlock Holmes because it’s ridiculously clever and sarcastic (I learned so many new words, and if you’ve seen my Logophilia post you’ll know this is the Olive-equivalent of a sugar high that never ends) and incredibly fun, even after I’ve seen it 20 times and know every line. The music is absolutely astonishing; I find myself humming along to it in the shower. Also, I will never get tired of RDJ’s face or his acting. Mostly his face.

(After my ultimate favorite, all of my other favorites tend to fall into the category of second favorite, so consider the next three my second favorites.)

2. Iron Man. Oh my god. I cannot say enough good things about this movie. The snarkiness level is through the roof. It’s well-written and Tony Stark is endearing despite his high a**hole rating (we’ll give him a kind 7/10, 10 being my father). For a billionaire with a gorgeous mansion and a virtual butler (shoutout to Jarvis, the lovable conscience of Tony Stark), he is a relatable character with enough flaws to match his genius. I did enjoy the sequels (explosions! Red and gold! Faces melting off! Bring your kids!), but nothing could come close to the original.

3. The Indiana Jones films Raiders of the Lost Ark and the Last Crusade definitely stand side-by-side on my favorites list. Even through horrendous special effects, they never fail to elicit laughter and groans at Indy’s cleverness and stupidity. I liked the original because of Marion. She was definitely Indy’s best and most substantial love interest (but seriously, he’s the archeologist-equivalent of James Bond), and I missed seeing her in The Temple of Doom. I still laugh at the idea of the amulet branding the round guy’s hand. Silly round guy. I loved The Last Crusade because we got to meet Indy’s infamous father and learn a bit more about his enigmatic past (snakes). The puzzles at the end of the grail quest were wonderfully suspenseful, and I loved the symbolism in the gold chalice v. the simple wooden cup (dear god I sound like my english teacher). You definitely don’t need to be religious to watch and enjoy this movie, but if you are, you’ll get a little more out of the biblical references. All in all, incredibly well-made movies at the top of my rewatch list.

4. Spiderman 2. What. A. Movie. Sad to say the villain was my favorite character, although Tobey Maguire’s Spidey was eons better than Andrew Garfield’s (for one, I actually cared about Peter rather than wishing he’d die so the movie’d be over). For such a ridiculous-looking character (4 extra appendages, goggles, and a trench coat. Hmm.), Doc Oc was carried off with depth and grace and stop it I’m tearing up. He had to die I know but whyyyyyyy. Spiderman 3, you killed the mood.

avengers-movie-poster

5. The Avengers. Again, I must stress that this is a very loosely sorted list of my favorite movies, because this movie deserves 3rd place at least. The only negative thing I will say about it is that it isn’t as good as Iron Man, but it’s way better than Captain America, Thor, and Hulk combined. It’s also graced with the most adorable villain ever (not to say that he’s not convoluted enough to be villainous, just that he’s adorable. And blue). The combination of the giant flying helicarrier (which I have memorialized in Lego), RDJ’s one-liners, and Tom Hiddl- ehem, Loki make this film so so sooo good. I’m not even going to attempt eloquence on this one because my face just melts into this insanely corny grin when I watch it. I loved the ending (“Please tell me nobody kissed me”) because it gave Tony Stark, the great wall of masculine ridiculousness, a martyr vibe that challenged Steve’s little jab about the rope. God how I loved this movie. The only thing that could make the sequel better than the original is if Loki joined the Avengers. A girl can dream.

Pull the red lever for more!

The red lever in this case being the “Like” button…I might do a post on my favorite non-action movies, favorite old movies, and a continuation of this list (I’m thinking X-Men). Let me know!

9 Responses to “My Favorite Action Movies”

  1. Amanda Phillips June 3, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

    good list, olivia. but it seems to be missing a certain… captain, perhaps???

    • Olivia June 3, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

      Ok, to be fair, I actually enjoyed his movie, but I still don’t like him. He’s a pansy.

      • Amanda Phillips June 3, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

        YOU’RE A PANSY

        • Olivia June 3, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

          I like pansies:) Just not Cap. Sorry Cap, you’re very attractive, I just don’t like you.

      • Amanda Phillips June 3, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

        Olivia plz
        Youre making me cry over here. Would it kill you to at least *pretend* to be charmed by his adorable sincerity and affable old-timey mannerisms??

        • Olivia June 3, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

          Yes. Yes it would. He makes me sad.

      • Amanda Phillips June 3, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

        :”( <—-this is me sobbing because of your bad taste in superheros

        • Olivia June 3, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

          :,,,,,,(( <– this is me sobbing even harder over yours

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sherlock Holmes (2009) Review | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings - June 26, 2013

    […] mentioned in my favorite actions movies post that I loved Sherlock Holmes, so I decided that it was high time to review it. No important […]

Think inside the box!

