Moving & Adapting

1 Jun

Since a lot of my posts have been humorous/satirical lately, I decided to tackle my first serious topic. I might be moving soon, and I guess what I really need is advice. Fortunately the prospective house is no more than 15 miles away from my house, so I won’t have to deal with relocating to a state or country, but I will most likely be switching schools. I’m entering my junior year (11th grade), an important year full of AP classes, SAT & ACT testing, and choosing my future college. I don’t want to face these challenges while simultaneously adapting to a new school.

At this point, I see 2 options. If we do move, I can swallow my doubts and try to “make new friends” and have a “positive outlook” (considering it’s little old pessimistic me, this is not a probable outcome), OR I can find a way to continue at my current school. I’m fairly sure I can get an exception to attendance, but I’d have to drive for ~20 minutes to and from school every day. Aside from the tremendously high prices of gas (my car isn’t exactly economizing when it comes to fuel), that’s a lot for an exhausted student and new driver to handle.

I’ll be the first to admit that I can be pigheaded about these things, but I’m trying to be as rational as possible. I know they say that kids are adaptable, but I’ve done enough adapting lately to last me a lifetime. I have to keep hoping for a miracle.

Any advice?

One Response to “Moving & Adapting”

  1. placesivegonepeopleivemet June 2, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Pitch a tent in my back yard 🙂

Think inside the box!

